How Much For A Concealed Handgun License in Colorado?

Well the total cost can vary but it will be made up of three elements. Here we will discuss those elements that make up the total investment to obtain a Colorado CCW Permit.

The three elements that make up the cost of a Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit:

  1. Required training course fee
  2. State Application Fee
  3. County Application Fee

The first fee one incurs to obtain the Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit is the fee to take the required training course. This fee varies greatly in Colorado. Each firearm instructor in the state has full flexibility to determine their own class curriculum and the fee they charge. Naturally class fees do tend to be higher for longer courses or courses that include live firing exercises. Our class fee is $65. If you have received any official firearm training (local or otherwise) or if you have been in the military in the last 10 years you do not need to take any additional class in order to apply.

The required state application fee for the concealed handgun permit is $52.50. This fee includes the cost of the FBI background check and the state background check. The county collects this fee at the point of application.

The county fee varies from county to county but per state statute the fee cannot exceed $100. The county collects this fee at the point of application. Most counties collect the full $100 so you should be prepared to take $152.50 with you. Different counties accept different forms of payment so it is best to call before you go down to the sheriff’s office.

If you have additional questions about the costs involved in obtaining a concealed carry permit please don’t hesitate to contact us via phone or via the form on our contact page.

Leave a Comment